Social Network Tools

After reviewing a multitude of social network tools I decided to sign up on Badoo. https://badoo.com/ Badoo is a multi-lingual social networking site that allows its users to connect both locally and globally. It’s tag line is “Make New Friends, Chat, Flirt.”

I selected Badoo for my social networking site because it’s used globally, it’s about meeting new people in a mass media audience, and you can connect your other social networking profiles to it as you so desire. The most important thing to me was that it was easy to use, had many users, and could be used dynamically.

The tool is very easy to use. One feature I liked was that I could choose to either create an account using e-mail address and password, or I could sign in using Facebook. I really like that the two services are integrated, but I can still choose not to do so.

The main dashboard layout is easy to understand, and they use globally recognized graphics to represent certain things. Ie the cut out of a person in a circle usually tells a user that if they click there they can change their profile picture and other profile settings.

A lot of people seem to use the web site to meet new people and to chat. People also use it to find people who live nearby and have similar interests. I think this appeals to so many people because of how busy we are as people today.

I would not use this tool professionally. It is very much so made for personal use, and I don’t think it’s a social network that one could cross the two worlds in.

I would like my social networking tool to show that I am a creative and open minded individual. That I’m adventurous and like to try new things and see new places.

You can protect your privacy through a few settings such as whether or not to show distance, selecting who can view your profile, whether or not to show your online status, and whether to allow search by e-mail. You can also use invisible mode, and there is a separate area for you to load private photos so other users cannot see them. I definitely want to protect my privacy, and would utilize some of these settings. I still wish there were more.

One other thing I learned was that many social networking sites have failed and shut down. There were several that I was interested in only to find out that the links were dead and that the site no longer existed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

